Recognition of Student Achievement

Each year at the commencement service the Seminary honors students for outstanding achievement in academic study, ministry, and personal growth.

2013 Awards

THE MARY B. DOOLITTLE PRIZE IN NEW TESTAMENT INTERPRETATION is awarded to the member of the Middler class who submitted the best paper on a subject assigned by the Professor of New Testament Exegesis. Tammy Peoples

THE ROBERT HATCHER PRIZE is awarded to the student who excels in Christian Education. Doreen R. Forde

THE REVEREND EDWARD LODEWICK PRIZE is awarded to the member of the Senior Class who demonstrates excellence in preaching. Kyle P. Tinnes

THE GEORGE AUGUSTUS SANDHAM SCHOLARSHIPS are awarded, one to each class, on the basis of classroom standing through the academic year. Senior: Martha B. Day
Middler: Peggy Thompson
Junior: Monique Wheeler

THE BENJAMIN LANHAM ROGERS PRIZEIN OLD TESTAMENT is presented to the member of the Senior class who demonstrates outstanding competence in Old Testament studies. LaKisha E. Miles

THE BLUSCHKE/BECKSTEAD SCHOLARSHIP AWARD is given to the student who demonstrates excellence in pastoral care and ministerial practice. Yoon S. Kim & Louise Ragin

THE FRANCES D. BEARDSLEE MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP established by the Women’s Auxiliary is awarded to the woman who exhibits excellence in scholarship and personal growth. Norma F. Brown

THE REVEREND JOHN W. BEARDSLEE III AWARD IN REFORMED CHURCH HISTORY given to the student judged to be most proficient in the area of Reformed Church History. Michael J. Sweeney

THE M.A. AWARD to the graduating Master of Arts student with the highest grade point average. LaKisha E. Miles

THE REVEREND CLARA WOODSON AWARD recognizes the graduating senior whose love, compassion, and spiritual gifts have fostered the bond of Koinoniaat the New York campus. Maudelin R. Willock

THE CERCA CHRISTIAN EDUCATION AWARD goes to a graduate of Western Theological Seminary (WTS) and of New Brunswick Theological Seminary (NBTS) whose gifts and achievements show most promise for the church's educational ministry. Debi L. Jensen

THE REVEREND JAMES EELMAN PRIZE in Preaching is awarded to the student who demonstrates excellence by exploring the nature and development of preaching in a given ecclesiastical tradition. Arburta E. Jones

THE REVEREND HORACE G. UNDERWOOD PRIZE IN ASIAN AMERICAN MINISTRY is awarded to a student of Asian heritage who has exhibited performance in scholarship and has a promising future for growth in ministerial skills. Won Yul Park

THE REV. FREDERICK MOLD, JR. AWARD was established by the Classis of New Brunswick to honor his ministry and his thirty-five years as Stated Clerk, and is awarded to the Reformed Church senior who has exhibited excellence and competence in the field of Reformed Church Polity or in Pastoral Administration. Norman E. Haight

New Brunswick, NJ campus * 35 Seminary Place * New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Queens, NY campus * 8000 Utopia Parkway * Queens, NY 11439
Site Map   Contact Us   Accreditation   Privacy Policy   Employment   Trustees